IVI 3D Printer | Forum

What is the best way to learn 3D printing and how to use the IVI?

Hello everyone,
I’m really new to 3D printing and I’m sure a lot of people who will get the IVI will be too, so I figured it would be helpfull to gather the most crucial sources of info on how to 3D model specifically for printing, how to set up your file, how to set up the printer, what is the best way to print etc… a really comprehensive guide on how to print from A to Z

You can get this infos on the internet but it’s a bit all over the place, so I propose to drop the best links you have for real beginners, I’ll update this thread with what you propose.
Thanks in advance !
Nicolas

3 Likes

Download Cura.

Get a Thingiverse account.

Pick something cool, download it, and figure out slicing.

If you are really gung ho, see if there is a makerspace with a printer and check out/ask to see how they print.

1 Like

Lynda.com is a site that has tons of video tutorials for various programs. They have classes you can take and a whole 3D printing course. It does cost money, however most public libraries offer a free subscription if you have an active library card!

1 Like

I am used to working in sketchup to make plans/models for my woodworking activities :slight_smile: I would love to lurn more about using sketchup to create models for 3d printing or laser cutting/engraving. What would really help is to understand:

1. What is the workflow (3D model, slicing, gcode, transfer to tool?)
  2. What software is available for the various steps
  3. What do I need to take into account in the various steps to enable a smooth printing process in the end.

Does anybody have knowledge or knowledge resources on this stuff? Maybe a basic Q&A for at least points 1 and 2 from the IVI group would help a lot of people already.

I’d say your work flow looks about right.